'New' Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning (SEAL)

Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning (SEAL) promotes social and emotional literacy in children and equips them with the skills they need to lead a healthy, happy life. 

There are five main areas that fall under the SEAL banner:

  • Self-awareness
  • Managing feelings
  • Motivation
  • Empathy
  • Social skills

Learning SEAL skills has a whole raft of benefits for children, within the classroom and in life as a whole.

SEAL teaches children how to be effective, successful learners. Research has shown that focusing on the social and emotional aspects of learning actually improves academic attainment. Children learn to solve problems independently, and it can also improve school attendance and behaviour.

Socially, SEAL helps children to make and sustain friendships, deal with conflict, work and play cooperatively, compete fairly and with respect for others, and be a good sport whether they win or lose.

Children learn to recognise and stand up for their own rights and the rights of others, understand the differences between people, such as cultural differences, and respect other people’s beliefs and values.

SEAL also teaches children skills that are important for resilience, including managing feelings like frustration, anger and fear, recovering from setbacks and persevering when things are difficult.

Here are some fun activities that you do at home with the whole family. 

A Family Charter

Certificate of Appreciation

Family Fact File

Family Flag

My Dream Home

My New Beginning

New Beginnings

New Start Interview

Rules and Fairness

Ten Strategies To Help Your Child Cope With Change